June 23, 2010

Bookmark and Share

UUP professors honored for excellence


SUNY Maritime Chapter President Barbara Warkentine was one of 18 UUP members from more than a dozen campuses across the state appointed to distinguished ranks, SUNY’s highest academic honors.

Warkentine, a biology professor, along with five other UUP academics were named as distinguished service professors by the SUNY Board of Trustees in May. The trustees also conferred five distinguished professorships and seven distinguished teaching professorships.

Since the program’s inception in 1963, SUNY has appointed 852 academics to distinguished ranks, including 276 distinguished professorships, SUNY’s top academic accolade.

Warkentine was thrilled by her appointment as a distinguished service professor. “I am honored,” she said. “It’s a great feeling to know that your work is appreciated.”

Warkentine, a longtime UUP activist, served as curriculum supervisor for Maritime’s Marine Environmental Science Program from 1995-2007 and was a member of the Faculty Senate (2003-2009). Currently, she serves on several college committees, including the college’s Health and Safety Committee. She’s also active in her community; she teaches youths about water quality and aquatic life and volunteers her time at the Bronx Veterans Administration nursing home.

Other UUPers honored as distinguished service professors are:

* H. Ragjavendra Rao, Buffalo Center;
* David Carson, Buffalo State;
* Suzanne Mirra, Brooklyn Health Science Center;
* Alfred Frederick, Oswego, and
* Edward Miller, Plattsburgh.

UUPers named to distinguished professorships are:

* Leonard Epstein, Buffalo Health Sciences Center;
* Alexis Levitin, Plattsburgh;
* Sanford Miller, Brockport;
* John Parise, Stony Brook, and
* James Piorkowski, Fredonia.

UUPers promoted to distinguished teaching professorships are:

* Antonio E. Alfonso, Brooklyn HSC;
* David K. Geiger, Geneseo;
* Mark Karwan, Buffalo Center;
* Robin W. Kimmerer, Environmental Science and Forestry ;
* Susan Leist, English, Buffalo State ;
* Thomas Loughlin, Fredonia; and
* Stephen Vitkun, Stony Brook Health Sciences Center.

| Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | © 2019 United University Professions | 800 Troy-Schenectady Road, Latham, NY 12110-2424