October 5, 2010

Bookmark and Share

Delegates applaud excellence at UUP's Fall DA


Delegates honored a defender of SUNY and celebrated the accomplishments of outstanding UUPers at the 2010 Fall Delegate Assembly.

More than 200 delegates took part in the DA, held Oct. 1-2 in Buffalo. Much of the DA's business was condensed so delegates could travel to Washington, D.C. Oct. 2 to participate in the One Nation march.

Delegates passed a special order to award Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver (D-Manhattan) with the Eugene P. Link Award for Outstanding Service. Members voted to thank Silver for opposing the so-called Public Higher Education Empowerment and Innovation Act (PHEEIA) as Gov. David Paterson pushed for its inclusion in the 2010-11 state budget.

Vicki Janik of Farmingdale and Larry Wittner of Albany received the Nina Mitchell Award for Distinguished Service at an Oct. 1 awards ceremony. Stephen Street of Buffalo State and Elena Eritta of Farmingdale won the Fayez Samuel Award for Courageous Service by Part-time Academic and Professional Faculty, and Henry Geerken of Cobleskill and Dave Peckham of Upstate Medical University got the Outstanding Active Retiree Award. Three SUNY students received UUP College Scholarships.

Earlier that day, delegates took action on a number of items, including passing resolutions condemning retrenchments of SUNY Nylink employees, sending congratulations on the Mott's strike settlement, and urging SUNY to phase out PVC plastics on SUNY campuses.

Members also donated $757 in a special collection to benefit Buffalo-area food banks.

| Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | © 2019 United University Professions | 800 Troy-Schenectady Road, Latham, NY 12110-2424