May 16, 2011

Bookmark and Share

Delegates do democracy at DA


It was democracy in action at the 2011 Spring DA in Albany, where more than 325 delegates voted in elections to choose 11 representatives for statewide offices.

Delegates re-elected President Phil Smith, Secretary Eileen Landy and Membership Development Officer Ed Quinn. They returned seven incumbents to the Executive Board for two- year terms.

Empire State College Chapter President Jacqui Berger is the Executive Board’s new member. Delegates re-elected Edison Bond Jr. of Brooklyn HSC, Caroline Bailey of ESF, Mike Smiles and Bob Reganse of Farmingdale, Plattsburgh Chapter President Dave Curry, Potsdam Chapter President Laura Rhoads, and Brian Tappen of Upstate Medical University.

A number of delegates also used the May 6-7 DA to advocate for SUNY; they sent electronic letters to legislators calling for the state to restore devastating state budget cuts to SUNY and its public teaching hospitals in Brooklyn, Stony Brook and Syracuse.

Delegates considered a slate of resolutions, including measures on affirmative action and academic freedom. They honored Ed Alfonsin of Potsdam with a special order of business naming him UUP Outstanding Retiree of the year. The late Stony Brook delegate Salvatore Lentini was recognized for his years of service to UUP.

Highlights of the 2011 Spring Delegate Assembly are available on the UUP website at A full report on the DA will appear in the May/June issue of The Voice.

| Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | © 2019 United University Professions | 800 Troy-Schenectady Road, Latham, NY 12110-2424