May 6, 2017

Bookmark and Share

Kowal wins third term as UUP president

uupdate 5-6-17

UUP delegates re-elected Fred Kowal, above, left, to his third term as union president, filled a new statewide secretary-treasurer post and placed nine members on the Executive Board at the 2017 Spring Delegate Assembly.

Longtime Buffalo Center Chapter President Tom Tucker, above, right, was elected to fill the unexpired one-year term of former VPP Philippe Abraham, who stepped down in April to become a NYSUT statewide vice president. Kowal, who became president in 2013, and Tucker were elected without opposition. The elections were held May 6 in Albany.

uupdate 5-6-17

Membership Development Officer Tom Hoey bested Cortland Chapter and Executive Board member Anne Wiegard for a three-year MDO term. Morrisville Chapter member Jeri O'Bryan-Losee, above, right, was elected as the union’s first secretary-treasurer. She will serve a three-year term.

In 2016, the union voted to replace the statewide secretary and treasurer posts with the new secretary-treasurer position. Secretary Eileen Landy and Treasurer Rowena Blackman-Stroud will step down from their statewide officer posts May 31.

uupdate 5-6-17

Blackman-Stroud, above, will continue as Downstate Medical Center chapter president and as a member of the NYSUT Board of Directors and the New York AFL-CIO Executive Council. Landy said she plans to return to teaching, at SUNY Old Westbury.

Executive Board elections

Empire State College Chapter President Pamela Malone, Geneseo Chapter President Wes Kennison, New Paltz Chapter President Beth Wilson, Potsdam Chapter President Laura Rhoads, and Farmingdale Chapter member Darleyne Mayers were returned to the Executive Board. They will serve three-year terms.

Albany Chapter member Patrick Romain, Cortland Chapter member Rebecca Bryan, and Upstate Medical University Chapter Rich Veenstra were elected to three-year terms on the Executive Board. Buffalo State Chapter member Tom Melendy was elected to a one-year Executive Board term.

Tucker began his VPP term after his election. The other winners will start June 1.

| Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | © 2019 United University Professions | 800 Troy-Schenectady Road, Latham, NY 12110-2424